Pens

It happened three times in two days last week. I would get to class and sit down, and they would glance over, smile a little and whisper —

“Can I borrow a pen?”

I did have extra pens because it’s the beginning of the year and I haven’t lost them all yet, but normally I don’t have extra pens. I guess these three people got lucky.

But.

Two things:

  1. It’s class. Lecture. Notebook-time. Note-taking time. Why didn’t you bring a pen?
  2. Do I look like the kind of person who has extra pens?

I went on a rant about this to my best friend over the weekend, and she was like, “Yes, you look like the kind of person who has extra pens.”

I’m not sure what that means. Yes, I do like pens (especially Pilot pens… I’m obsessed) but I do not usually have extra pens. And what makes a person look like they have extra pens?

Looks can be deceiving.

2 Comments

Filed under random

2 responses to “Pens

  1. I love pens! Sometimes I get paranoid when people borrow them, because they might not get back to me… and that would be so sad!
    I feel like I borrowed pens from you during high school, Kirsty, because you always had a lot in your little snappy plastic pencil case.

  2. writerkirsty

    I still have the pencil case! And it snaps really loudly at the most awkward times in class… but there are only two pens in there right now. It’s kinda empty 😦

Leave a Reply

