The Call (part one)

Maybe I’m being presumptuous by labeling this Part One. But sometime in the next 24 or 48 or something hours, I just might be talking to an agent on the telephone.

Email: Wow — this is phenomenal. Are you available to talk on the phone sometime?

EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEK!

So today: seven cures for the endless wait.

7. Write a paper. Well… only if you have to. Yesterday I was so CRAZY that I would write one sentence and then check my email and then dance around my room, and then . . . But I did get the paper done, don’t worry.

6. Obsess over a new song, blast the speakers and dance. My song: Fireflies by Owl City. I think I listened to it twenty times yesterday while I *wrote* my paper.

5. Eat chocolate (Wrapper: Buy yourself flowers today. I didn’t, but — anyone?)

4. Lie in the parking lot beneath the streakiest, wildest sunset in the world (with the silliest, bestest friends in the world) and make up emo song-titles about the colors (we got: bruised sky, bleeding clouds) . . .

3. Revel in thousands of butterflies every time your phone rings.

2. Laugh.

1. SCREAM! The possibilities are endless 🙂

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “The Call (part one)

  1. Ashley V

    That’s amazing!! I hope the phone call goes well! 🙂

    And Fireflies may just be the most brilliant song ever. I kid you not, I’ve listened to it 577 times since the start of fall semester.

  2. bigwords88

    Best of luck with the agent.

    Every time I wait on important phone calls I tend to chain-smoke and pace to and fro.

  3. BAHAHA!! KIRSTY!!! I’m so excited for you! You are amazing 🙂

  4. Stalked – I mean, *saw* your thread on AW, gurrl. CONGRATULATIONS! You’ll do awesome. <33

    I just listened to that song today. I kept telling my friend that the singer sounds like a girl but she convinced me to get over it. It's a good song. hahaha

  5. Wrong URL, sorry – this is my personal one!

  6. writerkirsty

    thanks!! am still listening to fireflies, still nervous, still waaaaiting… I will keep you updated!

    @emilia: well… I’ve definitely stalked your After Cameron excerpts in the SYW forum, so we’re even now 🙂

  7. LOL I have lots more excerpts up in my blog archives, if you’re interested 😉

    *is checking this URL on iPhone fairly obsessively for news*

  8. BY THE WAY. YOU ARE LIKE THE 6TH KIRSTEN/KRISTIN/KRISTEN/KRISTIN I KNOW WHO IS GETTING PUBLISHED IN THE NEAR FUTURE

    I NEED TO CHANGE MY NAME

  9. writerkirsty

    Us Kirsten/Kristin people are going to rule the publishing world… time to jump on our train. Is one of the Kristins you know Kristin Otts (or something like that? I read her blog). And I will be stalking your blog for more AC excerpts. Definitely.

    And some news: an email saying “hopefully talk to you tonight” from the agent.

    AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!

  10. OMG…
    (yes I know Kristin Otts, she’s awesome)
    …!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    !!!!!!
    !!!!
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  11. Hey. Congrats about your call! That’s amazing. And actually, I’m commenting because of the song Fireflies. I love love love that song. Discovered it, and just like you, listened to it about twenty zillion times in a row.

    (I’m Feathers from AW, by the way 🙂 )

  12. WHOA. I just stopped by to wish you a belated congratulations, and someone was already talking about me. EEEP. I feel famous. 😀 And insanely flattered, because I’m in love with your blog, Kirsty! 🙂

Leave a Reply

