The Call (part two)

fireworks

MY MIND!

Today went like this:

Morning: Class (why is the clock so slooooooow?)

Afternoon: Work and class (why is the clock even slooooooower?)

6:15: Dinner at the cafeteria. (oh. my. gosh. what if agent calls?! what if my phone buzzes but I can’t feel it? what if I say something dumb? how do I still have friends when all I can talk about is AGENT?)

6:25: Time for some different food. Like ice cream or something sugary. My friend and I walk back into the cafeteria from the patio, chatting.

6:27: Phone rings. I don’t recognize the area code.

Me: Ooooooh my gosh–

Friend: Girl, you got this —

And then I run out of the cafeteria.

Me: Hello?

Mystery caller: Hello, this is AGENT.

. . . and then I talked on the phone with a real, live agent who loves my book. And I had to sit down on the ground because I was so shaky. And then I ran back into the cafeteria and all my friends started screaming, and I think everyone thought we were crazy, but that’s okay. Three big thoughts:

  1. AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!
  2. I’ve been dreaming of this for three years — and it’s happening!!
  3. I wish I was home to celebrate.

More updates to come, so stay close. I’ve been running on adrenaline these last few days and now I’m crashing big time — so before I hit bottom I think I’ll do some homework to celebrate. C’est la life of a college student.

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “The Call (part two)

  1. AAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!

  2. Ashley V

    Ahh!! That’s so exciting! 😀

  3. Emilia

    I had to go to bed… then you went and got an agent.
    CHYEAH <333 😀
    Congratulations!!!!

  4. Toby

    I’m very happy for you, Kirsten! Looking forward to some more details when you’ve recovered. 🙂

  5. bigwords88

    Congrats. Getting an agent to actually take the time out of their busy schedule to talk is impressive. It’s the first step on the looong ladder to publication. I would crack open the good stuff to toast your success so far, but I drank it all trying to come up with ideas for NaNoWriMo…

  6. amy

    kirsten! this is fantastic news! i’m so happy for you and thrilled with all the possibilities the future holds. i know your heart must be so, so full. i can’t wait to hear more. love you!

  7. I don’t even know you and I’m SO happy for you! Gosh I can’t wait until I’m in your shoes. I’m also glad that you had your friends with you at the time so you could celebrate immediately. 😀 Best of luck with the book!

  8. I can imagine myself at the skating rink (roller or ice, either one :P)/ movie theater/mall getting the call and screaming and freaking out and everyone looking at me like I’m a freak.

  9. Mom

    CONGRATULATIONS!!! We were so pleased and honored to be the first ones called with such amazing news. Celebrating by doing homework is a wise choice – but we’ll party when you’re home for Thanksgiving. 🙂

    Love,
    Your family fan club

  10. Jessi

    Kirstin!! That is so exciting!! Is it the agent from the contest?? At Andrea Brown??? Wow! I need to hear details! Congrats!

  11. writerkirsty

    So I’ve been dancing around all evening (yep, to Fireflies/Owl City) and every time I do a little dance around my friends they just grin and say, Agent?

    Yep.

    Welcome to all the new people (250 hits today!!) and thanks for all the congrats. I’m STOKED.

    @Anna: your AHHH is so long that it runs out of the comments section and into oblivion… woohoo!

    @family fan club: love always.

Leave a Reply

